Station groups including Tribune, Tegna, CBS and NBC were some of the big winners at the PromaxBDA Local Awards at Station Summit 2017 in Las Vegas on Thursday.

Tribune’s WGN Chicago and WTVR Richmond, and Tegna’s KXTV Sacramento led the list of gold award winners. Other stations taking home multiple golds include two Dallas stations—CBS’ KTVT and NBC’s KXAS—as well as Comcast SportsNet Chicago, Canada’s Global News Edmonton, Tegna’s WGRZ Buffalo, and Tribune’s WSFL Miami.

PromaxBDA’s annual awards honor outstanding achievement in local broadcast marketing and promotion — the multiplatform campaigns, promos and social media innovations that build loyal viewership and create the local television brands that are vital partners in community life in cities and towns across the U.S. and Canada.

Gold, silver, and bronze awards are handed out in categories ranging from general image campaign to sports promos to set design. Work can be entered by individual stations, in-house creative groups, or station groups and parent companies.

Longtime CBS marketing executive Michael Mischler was given the 2017 PromaxBDA Lifetime Achievement Award, the association’s highest honor. Mischler, who recently retired as executive vice president for CBS Television Distribution, was presented the award by Scot Chastain, PromaxBDA board chair and executive VP, affiliate marketing and development, NBC Television Network.

The full list of PromaxBDA Local Awards winners can be found at:

Mario Lopez, host of Warner Bros.’ Extra and CBS’ summer game show Candy Crush, presided over Thursday’s ceremony at The Mirage Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

RELATED: Mario Lopez to Host Station Summit as Award Finalists Are Revealed

The ceremony took place during the 7th Annual PromaxBDA Station Summit conference, the annual meeting of local broadcast marketing and promotions executives, that was held June 19-23. More than 1,200 station managers and marketing executives from across North America gathered in Las Vegas to discuss the state of the local broadcasting industry, explore new best practices for marketing, and meet with their networks, syndicators and station groups to prepare for a successful upcoming season.

This year’s participating broadcast network partners include: ABC Broadcasting, CBS Television Network, FOX Broadcasting, NBC Broadcasting, Telemundo and The CW.

Program Distributor partners include: CBS Television Distribution, Debmar-Mercury, Disney-ABC Home Entertainment and Television Distribution, Entertainment Studios, NBCUniversal Domestic Television Distribution, Sony Pictures Television, Twentieth Television, and Warner Bros. Domestic Television Distribution.


  Save as PDF